Access Rights and Roles
When users install your application in their account, the level of access that you (as the application developer) have to their account is controlled by the roles you assign to it.
Before users install your application they get presented with a screen showing these roles. If they accept to install your application then the API calls you can make will be restricted to those roles.
If you change the roles of your application after users have installed it, they will be asked again to approve those roles the next time they access your application. Until then, you won't have access to their accounts, not even based on the old roles.
Some roles may require us to manually approve your application before it can be installed by any user.
Source: XML ! RSS